Skip navigation

Yes I know it is late, but I was exhausted and wanted to get some sleep.

9/11/2001

I was in 8th grade. Picture day. I remember getting ready for school that day wearing a samurai button-up shirt that I got at Mervyn’s with my mom. My dad was up and I was surprised to see him, since he is an early riser and I’m not. Anyway, he had on the Today show on and I think that he said something about an airplane hit one of the towers or both I can’t remember. All I remember was the fact when my dad was getting ready to go to work, I saw the towers collapse.  I don’t really remember what I was thinking at the moment but I just remember shouting that the towers did collapse. I made it to school had my picture taken, a smiling one, and throughout the day the radio or TV was on in each of my classrooms, listening for updates on what had just transpired. My parents picked me up like usaual, but my dad was in the car too. He worked for the state and what happened in the morning had been let go for the day. Plus there was a toilet seat in the back. 

The days and weeks that transpired was full of coverage and I soaked it up like a sponge. Looking back, that really loosened my tolerance to anxiety and depression. 

One year later, I was in high school and since my high school was a private Catholic school, we had a prayer service. We all got a white carnation and were to put it down on a cross or something, I can’t remember, but I remember the music they used. It was this really depressing strings from a war movie and I remember that causing lots of anxiety for me. Then later on maybe a few weeks later my religion teacher showed us a documentary and told us never to forget the images we saw or to watch it, I can’t remember and at that time I wanted to forget that image of the planes going into the towers or it falling down. 

To this day, it is really hard for me to see the towers smoking or falling or even just being there before the attack. I have been to Ground Zero and it is a powerful place. Hopefully the red-tape and all the people trying to change the plans now goes away and let the place move on to a more powerful place of remembrance of those who died, in the towers, outside, businessmen, firefighters, police officers, janitors, pilots, and the common man/woman. 

9/11 changed the way we look at the world. It took me two years to get me on a plane, with a lot of mental fortitude.

 

I guess one good thing came of 9/11 it showed us the darkness of the human spirit so that it contrasts with all of the good that came in the hours, days, weeks, months, years later.

 

9/11 a day that changed the world.

 

Balt

Leave a Reply

